iPhone inspiration

It was my intention for my next post here to be about one of the wonderful features on my new iPhone, and, in a way, I suppose this is, but only in a round about way.

One of my favorite apps on the iPhone is a very nice four track audio recorder called, oddly enough, FourTrack. It’s very similar to the Tascam Porta One that I owned about 25 years ago. It’s pretty basic, but it’s a great way to get song ideas down so that you don’t forget them.

It’s been quite a while since I felt creative, but recently, after recording one of my songs in a friends basement recording studio, I seem to have got the bug again.

So far I’ve only recorded a couple of simple ideas on the iPhone, but I love the flexibility of it and it really does get the creative juices flowing. And having started playing with recording again I decided to see what sort of recording applications there are nowadays for the PC. The last time I did any serious recording it was in a little studio I’d built back in England many years ago, and I was using Cubase on a PC back then.

So today I stumbled across a program called Mixcraft. I downloaded the free trial version just to see what it was like. I didn’t really expect much as the cost of the full program is only about $65 – much less than I paid for Cubase all those years ago. The trial version seems to be a fully functioning program but with a 14 day limitation, so after two weeks you either cough up the $65 or it stops working I guess.

I’ve just spent the last hour or so playing with this program and I must say that I’m pretty impressed with it. It’s very intuitive and easy to use, there’s a great selection of loops, and you can use midi instruments with it too, so I may have to get the old Korg out of the attic and dust off the cobwebs and try that out too.

If you’d like to hear my first attempt at using Mixcraft just click here. It isn’t very original, I just used some of the loops that come with the program, but I think it shows what sort of thing can be done with this software without trying very hard.

And next time I really will concentrate on discussing some of the great apps on my iPhone in detail.

Leave a Reply

