My new toy – an iPhone G3

iPhone 3G

iPhone 3G

I recently dragged myself into the twentyfirst century with the purchase of a new cellphone. I knew that what I was buying was quite a bit ‘cooler’ than the four year old clamshell device that had finally given up the will to live, but I had no idea what a life changing decision I was making when I walked into the AT&T store and purchased a shiney new iPhone.

Of course, I knew that this was more than just a phone. For one thing it has a half way decent snapshot camera, and I was sort of aware that I would be able to access the internet occasionally. But what I didn’t realise was just how much cool stuff my new toy could do, and do really really well.

One thing I didn’t expect was the amazing array of applications that are easily available for the iPhone – many of which are very inexpensive (99 cents for instance), and many of which are completely free of charge.

I intend to spend the next few weeks playing with some of the unexpected (to me) features of this amazing device, including many of the cool apps that I have tried out, and will post my findings on here.

Here’s a quick list of some of my favorite apps – I have no doubt that this list will grow over the next few weeks:

  • Pandora (radio)
  • Quick Voice (recorder)
  • Maps
  • Fring (use Skype to make your calls)
  • Power Tuner (guitar tuner)
  • SaiSuke (calendar which synchs with your Google calendar)
  • Four Track (four track recorder – just like my old (very old) Tascam, but without the tape.

This is going to be fun…

Leave a Reply

